Ondo 2024: Aiyedatiwa wins Ondo APC Primary


The Ondo state governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, has been declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the November 16, 2024 governorship election in the state.

The final results of the election were announced by the Kogi state governor and Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship Election Committee, Usman Ododo, who declared Aiyedatiwa as the winner of the election.

Ododo said Aiyedatiwa polled 48,569 votes to defeat 15 other aspirants from 17 of the 18 local government areas, as the election was not held in Ifedore Local government area of the state.




The Returning Officer for Ifedore local government, Oliver Okpala, explained that there was a shooting in the area, and residents were scared to come out.




According to him, all the wards visited by his team were empty and the election could not take place while the incident was reported at the police station.




However, Mayowa Akinfolarin came second polling a total of 15,343 votes in the election.

Speaking before the party’s electoral officers reeled out the results from the 18 council areas, Ododo of Kogi urged the aspirants to continue to work together for the development of the party and to win the state.




He said, “Let’s remember that the real election lies with all of us as members of this great party, the All Progressives Congress.




“We must always reflect on the words of our father and leader, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, who has maintained that a political contest is a quest to serve by brothers and sisters from the same family but living in the same room and must therefore live in the same house after the election has been won and lost.

“In our own room today, we are all in the same room as a family, and as such, we do not need to abandon the party, irrespective of today’s outcome. We must set aside our differences and unite behind our candidate.




“In our unity, we shall continue to find strength, and our victory lies in our solidarity as party men and women.”




The Chairman of the party, Ade Adetimehin, commended the Committee and assured that the party will do all within its reach to remain a party to beat in any election.

Election results at a glance


Total number of voters 117, 922

Number of Accredited voters 95,178

Total votes cast 95,178

Valid Votes 95,178

Invalid Votes Nil

Votes according to candidates

Jimi Odimayo 490

Omogoroye Judith 115

Lucky Aiyedatiwa 48, 569

Isaacs Kekemeke 1045

Soji Ehinlanwo 492

Gbenga Edema 395

IbrahimJjimoh 9456

Waheed Adekojo 529

Mayowa Akinfolarin 15,343

Wale Akinterinwa 1952

Oke Olusola 14915

Felix Ohunyeye 424

Levi Morayo 290

Diran Iyantan 348

Dayo Faduyile 353

Ife Oyedele 462

Do you want to be heard, your events covered, your articles published, or need to advertise your products and services on our Blog and Magazine, reach out to us at Newswire Law and Events, you will be glad you did. For more details about our services, please call: 08039218044, 09070309355. Email: newswiremagazine@yahoo.co.uk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here