University of Ilorin, Faculty of Law honors Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, SAN With Annual Journal Publication: The Jurist


The Faculty of Law, University of Ilorin has honored Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, SAN with its 25th edition of the Annual Journal, the ‘The Jurist’. The jurist is an annual publication of Legal Articles in honor of quintessential legal luminaries and jurists of national and international repute.

The venue of this year’s event was the Main Auditorium of the foremost Citadel, University of Ilorin. The Faculty of Law honored Y.C. as its honoree to headline its annual journal comprising several legal Articles by Students, Law Lecturers and Practitioners. The solemn occasion was presided by the leadership of the institution and faculty as represented by the Vice Chancellor, Deans of Faculties and the president, Student Representatives Council.

Other invited guests who graced the occasion are Alh. Adebayo Adelodun, SAN; K.K .Eleja, SAN; Prof Wahab Egbewole, SAN, who doubled as the Guest Lecturer; the Attorney General of Kwara State and Commissioner of Justice, Alh Salman Jawondo, SAN; DPP of Kwara State, Adebimpe Abdulmumeen, SAN; Prof Ibrahim Abikan, President of MULAN; the Chairmen and other exco members of Ilorin and Offa Branches of the NBA, including Mr Abdulganiy Bello, ACIArb UK, (Chairman NBA Ilorin); Dr Ijaiya (Chairman NBA Offa); Mr Dhikirulahi Adewale Balogun ( Vice Chairman NBA Ilorin); Mr JS Muhammad (Secretary NBA Ilorin); Former Chairmen of Ilorin Branch including Chief R.O. Balogun and Dr Mobolaji Ojibara; the Chairman, Arewa Young Lawyers Forum, Mr OD Jimoh; the chairman YLF Ilorin, Mr Zulqurnain Ajedayo and a large turnout of old and young lawyers, all of whom identified with and extolled the virtues of the Honoree.

The highlight of the event was the launch of the Journal which was generously done by the parade of the Inner and Utter Bar present.

On his part, Maikyau remarked that all honors are from God and must be appreciated. However, he was more appreciative to be honored into the ilk of past Honorees comprising members of the Bench and Bar, including:

Hon. Justice M.L. Uwais (CJN Rtd), Hon. Justice S.M.A. Belgore (CJN Rtd) Hon. Justice I.L. Kutigi (CJN Rtd), Hon. Justice G.A. Oguntade (JSC Rtd) Hon Justice Bolarinwa Babalakin (JSC Rtd), Prince Bola Ajibola, Hon. justice Mustafa Akanbi (PCA Rtd.), Umar Abdulahi (PCA Rtd.); Chief Wole Olanipekun, SAN; Chief Olisa Agbakoba, SAN; Prince Lateef Fagbemi, SAN; Chief Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, SAN; Chief Layi Babatunde, SAN; Mr. Femi Falana, SAN; Lawal Rabana, SAN; Prof. M.T. Abdulrazak; and Rt. Hon. Ali Ahmad.

He thanked everyone who made it to the occasion and promised to continue to do his utmost best to live up to the honor bestowed on him.

Pictures speak 👇


New mag

Newswire Law and Events Magazine is Out. It's a collector's item. Get one - or two,or more - for yourself and loved ones.

Do you want to be heard, your events covered, your articles published, or need to advertise your products and services on our Blog and Magazine, reach out to us at Newswire Law and Events, you will be glad you did. For more details about our services, please call: 08039218044, 09070309355. Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here