Five RECs redeployed, INEC


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the redeployment of five state resident electoral commissioners (RECs).

Festus Okoye, INEC’s national commissioner, and chairman, information and voter education committee, released a statement to this effect on Sunday.Okoye said those affected include Olusegun Agbaje, who was redeployed from Osun to Ogun, and AbdulGaniy Raji, who was redeployed from Ogun to Osun.“In the same vein, the REC of Bayelsa, Dr Cyril Omorogbe, will take up his new role as the REC for Cross River, while Dr Emannuel Alex Hart proceeds to Bayelsa as the REC from his former office in Cross River,” the statement reads.

The REC in Zamfara, Dr Asmau Sani Maikudi, has also been redeployed to Kaduna State.”Okoye said Nick Dazang, the INEC director, voter education and publicity, had proceeded on terminal leave.“Consequently, Mr Victor Aluko has been reassigned from Director (Administration) to Voter Education and Publicity as Director, while Mr Mikah Thabbal Lakumna is redeployed to administration from his erstwhile position as Director (Security),” he said.

Mr Nduh Samson moves from the office of the secretary to the commission to Director (Security). Mr Yakubu Duku, Director in the Electoral Operations Department, proceeds to Niger as the substantive Administrative Secretary.”Okoye added that the redeployment was part of the commission’s routine administrative postings.

Do you want to be heard, your events covered, your articles published, or need to advertise your products and services on our Blog and Magazine, reach out to us at Newswire Law and Events, you will be glad you did. For more details about our services, please call: 08039218044, 09070309355. Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here