Anambra rerun: INEC declares YPP candidates winners


The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared two members of the Young Progressives Party, Peter Uzokwe of Nnewi North, Nnewi South and Ekwusigo federal constituency and Chinwe Nnabuife of Orumba North and South federal constituency, winners of the rerun election held in Anambra State on Saturday.

The INEC returning officer, Prof. Charles Nweke, declared both candidates winners of their respective Constituencies at the INEC office in Nnewi North Local Government Secretariat on Sunday.Declaring the winners, Nweke announced that the YPP candidate, Uzokwe, polled 25,518 votes to emerge the winner, while the current member representing the Federal Constituency and the All Progressives Grand Alliance candidate, Uchenna Elodimuo, scored 25,412 votes.

The breakdown of the results collated after the rerun showed that the YPP candidate won in Otolo Ward 1, Otolo Ward 2, Otolo Ward 3, Uruagu Ward 1, Uruagu Ward 2, Umudim Ward 1, Umudim Ward 2, as well as in Nnewichi Ward 1 and Nnewichi Ward 2, while the APGA candidate won only in Uruagu Ward 3.

A further breakdown of the results in the three local government areas of the Federal Constituency showed that the YPP candidate won the election after defeating the APGA candidate in Nnewi North Local Government Area by polling 17,112 votes, while APGA polled 8,750 votes in the local government.

However, the APGA candidate won in Nnewi South and Ekwusigo Local Government Areas, but the votes from the two local government areas were unable to override the YPP candidate’s votes in Nnewi North and, consequently, failed to retain the seat for the APGA candidate at the green chamber.

Speaking to journalists after the declaration, the winners, Uzokwe and Elodimuo, appreciated the senator representing Anambra South Senatorial District, Senator Ifeanyi Ubah, for his support.

On his part, Ubah thanked President Bola Tinubu and INEC for the peaceful conduct of the election, describing it as fierce and fair.He also appreciated the security agencies for the conducive atmosphere during the rerun.

Meanwhile, Nnabuife of YPP, who had officially been re-affirmed the winner by INEC as a member representing Orumba North and South Federal Constituency at the INEC office in Orumba on Saturday, lauded the peaceful conduct of the poll and also thanked members of her constituency for the support she received.

She declared the victory a ‘New Dawn and turning Around of the fortunes of Orumba in for good representation’.The rerun election was held in five polling units in Nnewi North, Nnewi South, and Ekwusigo Federal Constituencies to determine the winner of Nnewi North, Nnewi South, and Ekwusigo federal constituencies.

The rerun election also took place in 16 polling units at Nanka in Orumba North Local Government Area to determine the winner of the Orumba North and Orumba South federal constituency.The total number of registered voters at the affected polling units in Nnewi North is 97,438, while that of Orumba North is 161,914 voters.

Do you want to be heard, your events covered, your articles published, or need to advertise your products and services on our Blog and Magazine, reach out to us at Newswire Law and Events, you will be glad you did. For more details about our services, please call: 08039218044, 09070309355. Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here