2022 NBA ELECTION: Maikyau Gadzama, Taidi Others Beat Deadline for Submission of Forms


In the run-up to the 2022 national elections of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), a number of aspirants have beaten the deadline for the submission of nomination forms in preparation for the polls.

Notable on the list are the three Presidential aspirants, namely, Joe Kyari Gadzama, SAN; Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, SAN, and Jonathan Gunu Taidi.


New mag

For more details about Newswire Law&Events Magazine, kindly reach out to us on 08039218044, 09070309355. Email: newswiremagazine@yahoo.co.uk. You will be glad you did

The post of General Secretary of the Association is a contest between Desmond Yamah, Adesina Adegbite; Ewenode William; Collins Ogiegbaen; and Ede Asenoguan.

A quartet of aspirants is gunning for the post of First Vice-President. They are Yakubu Saleh Bawa, Mrs. Linda Rose Bala; Liman Salihu; and Idris Doko Muhammad.

The post of Second Vice President is also a four-man contest comprising Clement Chukwuemeka; Damian Anosike; Dr. Gerald Abonyi; and Jude Ezegwui.

Three aspirants are vying for the position of Third Vice President. They are: Isaac Omuta Oghah; Promise Ademi-Akpeto; and Mrs. Mandy Asagba.

The post of National Treasurer is the focus of the aspirations of four lawyers – three of them ladies – namely: Mrs. Funmi Adeogun; Mrs. Safiya Balarabe; and Mrs. Caroline Ladidi Anie-Bishop. Chukwuemeka Mbamala is the lone male aspirant for this post.

Lagos lawyer Chinyere Gladys Obasi is among five aspirants – and the only female – vying for the position of Welfare Secretary. The others are: Nyada Auta; Gbemiga Adaramola; Churchill Aniekwena; and Mr. Maximus Ugwuoke.

There are four aspirants for the Assistant General Secretary position on the next Executive Council of the NBA. They are: Oluwaseun Aka; Dhikrullah Adewale Balogun; Daniel Kip; and Oseme Peremene Anthony.

Ogaga Emoghwanre; Habeeb Akorede Lawal; and Felix C. Ashimole are the three men vying for the position of the Association’s Publicity Secretary, while the post of Assistant Publicity Secretary is being contested for by the pair of Charles Ajiboye and Akachukwu Nwoye.

The above aspirants are subject to screening and further authentification measures by the Electoral Committee of the NBA (ECNBA).



  1. Mr. Y.C Maikyau, SAN.
  2. Mr. J. K Gadzama, SAN.
  3. Mr. Jonathan Taidi

General Secretary

  1. Mr. Desmond Yamah
  2. Mr. Adesina Adegbite
  3. Mr. Ewenode William
  4. Mr. Collins Ogiegbaen
  5. Mr. Ede Asenoguan.

First Vice President

  1. Mr. Yakubu Saleh Bawa
  2. Mrs. Linda Rose Bala
  3. Mr. Liman Salihu
  4. Mr. Idris Doko Muhammad

Second Vice President

  1. Mr. Clement Chukwuemeka
  2. Mr. Damian Anosike
  3. Dr. Gerald Abonyi
  4. Mr. Jude Ezegwui

Third Vice President

  1. Mr. Isaac Omuta Oghah
  2. Mr. Promise Ademi-Akpeto
  3. Mrs. Mandy Asagba

National Treasurer

  1. Mr. Chuks Mbamala
  2. Mrs. Funmi Adeogun
  3. Mrs. Safiya Balarabe
  4. Mrs. Caroline Ladidi Anie-Bishop

Welfare Secretary

  1. Chinyere Gladys Obasi
  2. Mr. Nyada Auta
  3. Mr. Gbemiga Adaramola 4. Mr. Churchill Aniekwena
  4. Mr. Maximus Ugwuoke

Assistant General Secretary

  1. Mr. Oluwaseun Aka
  2. Mr. Dhikrullah Adewale Balogun
  3. Mr. Daniel Kip
  4. Mr. Oseme Peremene Anthony

Publicity Secretary

  1. Mr. Ogaga Emoghwanre
  2. Mr. Habeeb Akorede Lawal
  3. Mr. Felix C. Ashimole

Assistant Publicity Secretary

  1. Mr. Charles Ajiboye
  2. Mr. Akachukwu Nwoye.

Do you want to be heard, your events covered, your articles published, or need to advertise your products and services on our Blog and Magazine, reach out to us at Newswire Law and Events, you will be glad you did. For more details about our services, please call: 08039218044, 09070309355. Email: newswiremagazine@yahoo.co.uk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here