#NotTooYoungToRun: Youths Demand 50% Slot from Parties

NOT-TOO-YOUNG Buhari Signed bill
President Buhari signed Not Too Young To Run Bill

#NotTooYoungToRun: Youths Demand 50% Slot from Parties

The #NotTooYoungToRun movement has threatened to boycott political parties that fail to give youths 50% affirmative action.

NOT-TOO-YOUNG Buhari Signed bill
President Buhari signed Not Too Young To Run Bill

The group disclosed that signing of the bill into law by the President is not sufficient and called all political parties to reserve 50% of all its party tickets to Nigerians within the youth age bracket.

It would be recalled that the President signed the age reduction bill into law on Thursday, after fulfilling the constitutional requirement as enshrined in section 9 of the 1999 constitution as amended.

The demand was made by the group at the press conference organized by its leadership led by Samson Itodo and flanked by the sponsor of the bill, Tony Nwulu (PDP, Lagos) in Abuja on Friday.

A prepared statements at the conference read in part: “The movement notes that signing this bill into law is not sufficient to guarantee the youth representation in political office. It will require reducing the cost of politics, democratic primaries within political parties, affirmative action and quota.

“Political parties should reserve 50% of party tickets for capable, competent, and morally upright youths aspirants across all elections in 2019.”

The demands also include a call to the National Assembly to expedite legislative action on the electoral reform bills bordering on limiting campaign expenditure and cost of securing party nomination.

Furthermore, the group urged the National Assembly to revisit the age limit for governors and Senate, along the line of the original proposal of 30 years for President, Governors and Senate.

Itodo in response to question from journalists, noted that the group has no plans to transit to a political party, rather, continue to demand for more inclusiveness.

He also expressed gratitude to President Muhammadu Buhari, Vice President Yemi Osinbanjo, the two sponsors of the bill, Sen AbdulAziz Nyako (APC, Adamawa) and rep member, Nwulu for the passage of the bill.

The group however, inducted three states; Lagos, Kano and Zamfara into hall of shame for abstaining to vote on the bill.

Subscribe for your copy/copies now

Do you need to be heard? Or your articles published? Send your views, messages, articles or press release to: newswiremagazine@yahoo.co.uk  >>> We can cover your (LAW) events at the first Call: 08039218044, 08024004726


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here